VA reckless driving by speed

Reckless Driving by Speed – According to the Law

The code of Virginia has a specific code for reckless driving by speed or speeding. § 46.2-862 is the code where all of the reckless driving by speed is mentioned.

  • 46.2-862
    “A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.”

There is a speed limit set by the code of Virginia which limits everyone. If you go over 80mph, then you are at the warning, and if you cross 100mph, then you will be charged with the reckless driving by speed charge. Not only this, if the traffic condition isn’t suitable for 80mph, you have to drive as per the situation and should not go over speed. Or, be ready to face the reckless driving speed charges which have misdemeanor 1 class attached. Crossing any school bus when it is stopped while over speeding, then it will be charged against you. Also, overtaking any emergency vehicle such as an ambulance or fire brigade will result in a reckless driving by speed charge. It is common for Officers to charge a driver with reckless driving even when they were going less than 20 mph but were over the 80 mph threshold.

Reckless Driving by Speed – Penalties

There are a different number of penalties you can face if you ever commit reckless driving. For speeding, there are six penalties mentioned in the law which you can face. Excluding the penalties, the biggest blow is to have yourself registered as a criminal and having a criminal record. There is no way you can escape that except fighting for the case in state court and getting it removed, which is a tough task.

  1. Fine
  2. Suspended License
  3. Imprisonment
  4. Driving and Criminal Record
  5. Insurance Premium Increases
  6. Loss of Employment

Mentioned above are the penalties and the charges you will face if you commit reckless driving by speed. Excluding the fine, all remaining five can bring much more damage than a person would think. Having your license suspended for six months isn’t an easy thing, it clearly means you will not be able to drive until your license is suspended. Imprisonment is the case where the court appoints you a lawyer if you fail to hire one. The court gives you the chance to lower your charges and have the imprisonment charge turned into fine or any other penalty. Loss of employment can hurt you the most when you do not have a job to secure the amount for a lawyer and other expenses; it sounds like a depressing period, forgets about living it.